Vita

Thomas Peter Friedl | Producer

German born producer Thomas Peter Friedl started his career in the movie industry in 1989 at Germany’s media powerhouse Constantin Film. Until 2008, Friedl was member of the board and served as President, Distribution & Marketing and COO of Constantin Film AG, a company he left at the beginning of 2008 after 18 years.

Under Friedl’s supervision, the company distributed the two most successful German films of all time: DER SCHUH DES MANITU (box office in Germany: US$ 84.5 million) and (T)RAUMSCHIFF SURPRISE (box office in Germany: US$ 66.3 million). In the 12 years that Friedl was at its helm, films distributed by Constantin Film i.e. DOWNFALL, SLEPPY HOLLOW, AMERICAN PIE, NOWHERE IN AFRICA, drew more than 180 million moviegoers and generated over 1 billion US$ in box-office sales in Germany alone.

In international distribution, Friedl was also supervising the worldwide exploitation of successful productions such as the first three RESIDENT EVIL films, which together generated over US$ 700 million revenues in the various stages of international exploitation, and PERFUME – THE STORY OF A MURDERER, with worldwide box-office sales exceeding US$ 105 million.

In 2001 he set up Constantin Film’s commercial art-house division and led the German art-house market into a new era. Titles such as "Swimming Pool", "8 femmes", "Les Choristes", "Motorcycle Diaries", “City of God” or "La vie en rose" enjoyed a level of success previously unheard of in the art-house genre in Germany.

In 2008, Thomas Peter Friedl joined Germanys leading production company UFA and took over responsibility as producer and CEO of UFA Cinema’s operations. With the revival of the UFA brand as one of the world’s most famous and historic brands in cinema production, Bertelsmann, RTL Group and FremantleMedia are sending a clear signal about the continued importance of cinema in the digital age. In the first five years of the young company, 11 German and English-language films were produced, which were able to achieve almost 10 million moviegoers in the German speaking territories.

Thomas Peter Friedl’s producer credits include – among others – the movie adaptation of the popular children’s and young-adult bestsellers DEVIL´S KICKERS and THE TWINS AT ST. CLARE’S, the comedy THE THEORY OF RELATIVITY IN LOVE, Sabine Kuegler’s autobiographical bestseller JUNGLE CHILD, the thrillers THE FOURTH STATE directed by Dennis Gansel (THE WAVE) and worldwide critical acclaimed thriller THE COMING DAYS, the romantic comedy JESUS LOVES ME and THE WEEKEND– drama adapted from the eponymous bestseller by Bernhard Schlink.

Friedl left UFA Cinema 2013 to join forces with leading German producer and CEO of X-Filme Creative Pool, Stefan Arndt, producer of movies like RUN, LOLA RUN, Academy Award winning AMOUR by Michael Haneke, CLOUD ATLAS starring Tom Hanks and Halle Berry and international tv-series-bestseller BABYLON BERLIN by Tom Tykwer. Friedl and Arndt’s production entity THE AMAZING FILM COMPANY is focusing on high commercial value English speaking feature movies and tv-series for worldwide exploitation.

Friedl's most recent productions include the feature thriller COLD HELL - directed by Academy Award-winner Stefan Ruzowitzky (ANATOMY, THE COUNTERFEITERS). The feature thriller-series INTRIGO, in co-production with Enderby Entertainment, directed by Daniel Alfredson (THE GIRL WHO PLAYED WITH FIRE). The trilogy includes the movies DEATH OF AN AUTHOR starring Sir Ben Kingsley and Benno Fürmann, SAMARIA and DEAR AGNES, and is based on the million bestselling novels by Hakan Nesser. Or the romantic feature comedy RATE YOUR DATE (directed by David Dietl). A modern, cheeky comedy that unites the most interesting and impressive young actors in Germany: Alicia von Rittberg, Marc Benjamin, Edin Hasanovic and Nilam Farooq.

Other features-film projects in preparation are - among others - A YEAR IN THE MERDE, based on Stephen Clarke's international bestseller, the romantic comedy BALANCING ACT (AT), inspired by the novel "Surf Mama" by Wilma Johnson or FEAR OF FLYING, based on the worldwide bestseller by Erica Jong.

In addition to his feature-film projects, Friedl is currently preparing several national and international tv-series, including the German comedy-series DER BEISCHLÄFER and the English-speaking Antarctic thriller-series BENEATH, another co-production with Enderby Entertainment.

Thomas Peter Friedl is member of the European and German Film Academy, where he served many years as creative director and producer of the German Film Awards. He is also Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Children Charity Organisation "Artists for Kids", which he founded in 1999 together with his longtime friend and partner, German producer legend Bernd Eichinger.

Contact

The Amazing Film Company GmbH

+49 (89) 38 66 7 99 3 - 0

Frauenstraße 22
80469 Munich
Germany

Kurfürstenstraße 57
10785 Berlin
Germany

Vita

Thomas Peter Friedl | Produzent

Der in Deutschland geborene Produzent Thomas Peter Friedl, startete 1989 seine Karriere in der Filmindustrie beim deutschen Media-Powerhaus Constantin Film und verantwortete in verschiedenen Führungspositionen die gesamten Verleih-, Marketing- und Kinoaktivitäten des renommierten Medienkonzerns. Zuletzt war Friedl von 1999 an Vorstand Vertrieb, Marketing und Zentrale Dienste der Constantin Film AG die er zu Beginn des Jahres 2008 nach 18 Jahren verlassen hat.

In den 12 Jahren, die Friedl an der Spitze des Verleihs tätig war, haben die Filme der Constantin Film mehr als 180 Mio. Kinobesucher in die deutschen Kinos gezogen und damit mehr als US$ 1 Milliarde Umsatz an den deutschen Kinokassen eingespielt, darunter die beiden erfolgreichsten deutschen Filme aller Zeiten: Der Schuh des Manitu (box office in Deutschland: US$ 84.5 Mio.) und (T) Raumschiff Surprise (box office in Deutschland: US$ 66.3 Mio.).

Thomas Peter Friedl war auch verantwortlich für die Konzeption und Steuerung weltweiter Auswertungen der internationalen Constantin-Produktionen, darunter die ersten drei RESIDENT EVIL Filmen (die zusammen mehr als US$ 700 Mio. weltweit in den verschiedenen Auswertungsstufen erzielt haben) oder PARFUM – DIE GESCHICHTE EINES MÖRDERS mit einem weltweiten box office Umsatz von mehr als US$ 100 Mio.

In 2008 übernahm Thomas Peter Friedl die Verantwortung als Filmproduzent und CEO der neu gegründeten UFA Cinema. Mit der Wiederbelebung der Marke UFA als einer der weltweit bekanntesten und historische Marken in Kinoproduktionen, Bertelsmann, RTL Group und FremantleMedia senden ein klares Signal über die anhaltende Bedeutung des Kinos im digitalen Zeitalter. In den ersten fünf Jahren des jungen Unternehmens wurden 11 deutsche und englischsprachige Kinofilme hergestellt, die in Deutschland knapp 10 Mio. Kinobesucher erzielen konnten.

Zu Friedl’s Produzenten-Credits gehören u.a. die Verfilmungen der beliebten Jugendbuchbestseller TEUFELSKICKER und HANNI & NANNI, die Kinokomödie DIE RELATIVITÄTSTHEORIE DER LIEBE mit Katja Riemann und Olli Dittrich in den Hauptrollen, des autobiographischen Bestsellers von Sabine Kuegler DSCHUNGELKIND, den Kinothriller DIE VIERTE MACHT mit Moritz Bleibtreu unter der Regie von Dennis Gansel (DIE WELLE), das Regiedebut von Florian David Fitz JESUS LIEBT MICH, nach Motiven des Bestsellers von David Safier sowie die Bernhard Schlink Verfilmung DAS WOCHENENDE.

Ende 2013 verläßt Friedl die UFA Cinema und gründet zusammen mit Produzent Stefan Arndt (GOOD BYE LENIN, DAS WEISSE BAND, LOLA RENNT, AMOUR, CLOUD ATLAS, BABYLON BERLIN) das Produktionshaus THE AMAZING FILM COMPANY (TAF), das sich auf kommerzielle englischsprachige- und deutsche Kinofilmproduktionen für eine weltweite Auswertung fokussiert.

Zu Friedls aktuellsten Produktionen gehören der Kinothriller „DIE HÖLLE“, von Regisseur und Oscar-Gewinner Stefan Ruzowitzky (Anatomie, Die Fälscher). Die Kinothriller-Reihe INTRIGO, in Co-Produktion mit Enderby Entertainment unter der Regie von Daniel Alfredson. Die Triologie umfaßt die Kinofilme TOD EINES AUTORS mit Sir Ben Kingsley und Benno Fürmann in den Hauptrollen, SAMARIA und IN LIEBE AGNES und basiert auf den Millionen-Bestseller-Romanen des schwedischen Autors Hakan Nesser. Oder die romantische Kinokomödie RATE YOUR DATE (Regie David Dietl). Eine moderne, freche Kinokomödie, die die interessantesten und eindrucksvollsten jungen Schauspieler in Deutschland vereint: Alicia von Rittberg, Marc Benjamin, Edin Hasanovic und Nilam Farooq.

Weitere Kinofilmprojekte in Vorbereitung sind u.a. A YEAR IN THE MERDE (Ein Engländer in Paris), basierend auf dem internationalen Bestseller von Stephen Clarke, die romantische Komödie BALANCING ACT (AT), inspiriert nach dem Roman „Surf Mama“ von Wilma Johnson oder FEAR OF FLYING, nach dem weltweiten Bestseller von Erica Jong.

Neben seinen Kinofilmprojekten bereitet Friedl aktuell einige nationale und internationale TV-Serien vor, darunter die deutsche Comedy-Serie DER BEISCHLÄFER oder die englischsprachige Antarctic Thriller-Serie BENEATH, in Co-Produktion mit Enderby Entertainment.

Thomas Peter Friedl ist Mitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie, wo er viele Jahre als Creative Director und Produzent des deutschen Filmpreises tätig war. Zudem ist er Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates von "Artists for Kids" – Projekt für kreative Jugendhilfe, das er 1999 zusammen mit seinem langjährigen Freund und Partner, der deutschen Produzentenlegende Bernd Eichinger gegründet hat.

Kontakt

The Amazing Film Company GmbH

+49 (89) 38 66 7 99 3 - 0

Frauenstraße 22
D - 80469 München

Kurfürstenstraße 57
D - 10785 Berlin